Always Check Your Inventory

I’m usually pretty good about the gear I carry with me on a ride.  I double check everything to make sure I have what I need.  2 spare tubes, 2 Co2 cartridges, tire levers, cell phone and a small tool set.  Sometimes you get in such a routine, like doing the same ride, loop, or you leave at the same time every ride that you skip some minor details.  Hence this post I’m writing.

Dang Flats

So there I was on the side of the road fixing a flat I got on the front wheel from some wonderful glass I picked up.  No joke, about 6 groups of cyclists road by and asked if I needed anything.  “You good there?” “You got everything you need?” “Yep, I’m good thanks.”  Very polite and if I can teach anything to a “new” rider it’s to always check and see if someone needs anything.  Karma is a bitch and it will come around and bite you in the ass when you least expect it.  OK back to the story.  I get my wheel changed out, tube is in and clear of any glass and I grab my two Co2 cartridges.  Well one was partially used and still had the release cap screwed on, cool I thought and emptied what it had left into the tire.  Then went to screw in the other C02 cartridge and lo and behold, it was a damn used one.  Crap, ummm anymore cyclist coming by?  Nope.

If I Only Had a Pump

I don’t carry a pump.  Hate the way it looks mounted on my frame.  Just my thing.  I pressed on with probably about 20 psi in my front tire while I’m trying to keep the majority of my weight off the bars and on the saddle.  I still had 24 miles left to get home and I surely wasn’t calling for back up (wife).  Karma was with me this day though as I rounded a corner in Mission Bay and saw a group of cyclists (probably one that passed me earlier) and swung on over and asked for a pump.  Score.

Today’s Lesson

I obviously will be triple checking my gear now as double checking doesn’t seem to cut it for me.  I also learned that there’s nothing like doing someone a favor.  I definitely feel it comes back around.  I’ve given a tube away a couple of times to some chap on the side of the road.  Now it was me stranded and I surely wasn’t let down.  The cycling community rocks in this town and I only hope that if I ever move the same will apply there.

“Mantenha o lado da borracha para baixo”

3 thoughts on “Always Check Your Inventory

  1. Totally agree with you on asking other riders if they need help. It’s one of those Good Samaritan rules of cycling.

    I’ve gotten caught by not re-stocking my seat bag as well. That’s why I specifically mentioned doing it in my ebook. All of us get pre-occupied or rushed and forget to do it. Thanks for the reminder.

  2. Good thing to remember son..Always give as much assistance as you are able to..
    You never know when you may need some..
    Keep up the good rides..
    love you

Leave a Reply

