Cycling Sanity

3 weeks to the day I’ve been off the bike.  21 days ago I slacked off.  That’s really all that can be said.  It was driving me crazy not riding.  Riding is like a drug, well any physical exercise is really.  I’m glad to be back at it as I haven’t quite reached my goal yet.  Saturday was my first day back on and it definitely didn’t feel as well as it has been feeling.  Maybe it’s the fact that I just turned 35 and my body is telling me to slow down, nah that’s just hogwash.  All that crap is in your brain anyway.  Your only limited by your mind, not your body.  It’s surprising though how quick my fitness level has dropped after just a 3 week break.  I felt “OK” today but was without a doubt dehydrated and starting to cramp up after about 30 miles.  I made it home fine though and I’m posting the route and stats below.

Stats and Route

OB Dog Beach

Here’s a random pic of OB, my halfway point on Saturday.  The next couple of months are going to be insane with starting the P90X and still trying to keep up my 80 miles per week on the bike.  I’m going to be taking in a lot of extra calories for fuel.  Right now I’m running at about 1700-1800 calories a day without exercising so I’m sure I’ll need to bump that up as a typical P90X workout can burn on average about 800 calories and my normal ride can be anywhere from 1800-3000 calories.  So as you can see I obviously can’t function without bringing in more fuel for my workouts.  I’m sure it will be a learning process the first couple of weeks while I’m getting my feet wet with the P90X.

In hopes that it will help me stay motivated I’m going to call my P90X project “Abs at 35”.  By labeling it with my objective I’m hoping it will give me that extra kick to stay on target.  I’m going to work real hard the next few months at achieving my goal.  I’ll probably be missing from a lot of social events but don’t take it personal peeps.  Anything worth value isn’t easily obtained and I’m willing to make sacrifices to achieve the fitness level that I want.  If that means not eating out and skipping alchohol (not wine of course) then I’ll do it.  Where does this crazy fitness train stop?  I don’t know but I’ll let you know when I get there.

“Mantenha o lado da borracha para baixo”

6 thoughts on “Cycling Sanity

  1. Congrats on getting back on the bike and goodluck with p90x. I love your comment about value, achievement, sacrifice, and fitness.

  2. Abs at 35 huh?
    I know you can do anything you put your mind to Tony.
    Glad to hear you’re back on your bike.
    I loved having you visit & can’t wait for Christmas to see all the Lussier’s.
    I love you.

  3. Let’s work together to keep that motivation up, my man. I know that Bryan would agree to helping out as well.

    I would seriously love to help out in any way I can….I’ve got a background in Personal Training and Fitness so if there is any tips or advice I can offer, just ask.

    The P90X is a good program so I wish you all the best with it. Age is just a number….I’m 41 and continually getting in better and better shape.

    We can get you those abs very soon.

    Darryl

Leave a Reply

