Memorial Weekend

Memorial Day Weekend for some can be a difficult time.  Time for grieving of loved ones lost in battles past and present.  I’m lucky not to have anyone in my immediate family lost in such a way but at the same time very proud as a great majority of my family has served our country including myself.  Memorial Weekend is very special to me in more ways than one.  Not only is it special because of the day itself but also because I married my wife Tatiana four years ago.  Yes it was my anniversary this past weekend and I must say time goes by so fast.  It’s hard to believe that four years have past since my wife and I tied the knot and took the plunge.  A lot has happened since then.  We’ve moved across the country and both started new careers all while balancing our new marriage and trying to create a strong stable home for ourselves.  We’ve done exceptionally well and  made some “great” friends along the way.  I’m really happy where our lives have taken us together and I’m excited to see where this ship leads us. She puts up with a lot of crap from me and I couldn’t ask for anything more from a “cyclist’s” wife.  In other words, she rocks.  We celebrated our anniversary by hitting up Disney since it’s only about 100 miles away.  We closed the park down at midnight and headed back home the next day. (See Pics Below)

The rest of the weekend consisted of recovering from the trauma of Disney kids (mainly those damn strollers), some pool time, the Santee Street Fair and of course a couple of rides.  I did an out and back to Dog Beach on Sunday (40 Miles) and I took off on Monday (24 miles) around Santee just exploring the town.  I can only hope that the weather sticks like this for all of June.  Santee gets pretty warm in the summer but this weekend was perfect which gave my wife and I a great opportunity to enjoy the pool.  Now that May gray is gone and June gloom is here (so they say) the clouds will roll in and out along the coast.  Living out in East County we get to avoid all of that crap because the overcast gets burned off before it hits us leaving nothing but blue skies.  So starting and ending my rides always plays out nicely.

I included some pics of this weekends ride including a snap from Disney.  Hope everyone enjoyed their Memorial Day weekend as May has closed up shop until next year.  June is promising to be a great month.  I’m looking forward to all the warm rides in the mountains and cool drinks by the pool.  What’s in store for your June?

“Mantenha o lado da borracha para baixo”

2 thoughts on “Memorial Weekend

  1. I’m so glad you & Tati had a good anniversary. Mickey must have been so excited to see the two of you!
    Keep up the good work Tony.
    I love you.
    MOM

Leave a Reply

