Sluggish to Ride

This week has been interesting to say the least.  Put it this way, not much riding has been done.  I ended last week with an accomplished bike-to-work week feeling great and motivated.  I had some prior commitments for Saturday which ended up nixing my ride but I was perfectly fine with that choice (four straight days in the saddle tends to hurt your backside).  That evening my wife and I partook in some rather heavy spirits, thanks John’s Wine & Bistro-Pool Hall, which in turn ended any hopes of a ride on Sunday. (hangover blues).

Since Sunday I haven’t really felt right, kinda sluggish and very sleepy.  Not a motivator to step out riding let me tell ya.  Now I’m stuck at work all day which happens now and again and bam the week is gone.  My wife and I will close out the week which happens to be our 4 year anniversary by braving all the little rug rats and heading to Disneyland.  No we don’t have kids…..yet.  And yes I do like Disney parks.  What of it?  I’m not a big thrill seeker as far as roller-coasters and extreme rides go and at the Disney parks I feel well, safer.

I’m not ashamed at taking a week off.  I did rather well for myself closing out May with 489 miles in the saddle.  By far the largest month to date but it will only get bigger.  I have plans for the summer to up my mileage and improve my climbing.  I will let you know how that turns out.  For now enjoy your week and I’ll leave you with this quote:

“To be a cyclist is to be a student of pain….at cycling’s core lies pain, hard and bitter as the pit inside a juicy peach. It doesn’t matter if you’re sprinting for an Olympic medal, a town sign, a trailhead, or the rest stop with the homemade brownies. If you never confront pain, you’re missing the essence of the sport. Without pain, there’s no adversity. Without adversity, no challenge. Without challenge, no improvement. No improvement, no sense of accomplishment and no deep-down joy. Might as well be playing Tiddly-Winks.”   -Scott Martin

“Mantenha o lado da borracha para baixo”

4 thoughts on “Sluggish to Ride

  1. 489 miles in a month? Wow Tony!
    It won’t hurt to take some time off of riding. You need to have some rest.
    I’m very proud of all you do.
    I love you.

    MOM

Leave a Reply

