IronMan

Summer is right around the corner.  I can feel the sun already trying to stretch its long summer days until 7:45 PM.  Love that by the way.  Favorite time of year.  With summer though comes picnics, bar-b-ques, beer, wine, basically all the good stuff in life.  As we’re creeping into May, my wife and I have already partaken in a social event every weekend for a straight month now.  You’re now scratching your head wondering “Why are you telling me this?”  Well duh, it’s making it very difficult to enjoy all these guilty pleasures while trying to get stronger and leaner for the bike.  The food and time at social events are encroaching on my riding time.

See the summer months is cycling season.  Every roadie is out and about and should be in the best shape of the year as far as legs and conditioning goes.  I would say that I am in the best shape I’ve ever been in right now but yet I still feel sluggish at times and weaker than I should.  One day I could be strong and not winded or tired at all.  And others days it feels like I’m pulling a train behind me.  A year ago this time all I could think about was when the next good time was going to be, (bring in the beer & wine) but now I have different ideas.  This summer is truly all about the bike and progressing towards a new goal.  Just need to come up with one.  My wife threw out an idea I’ve never even considered.  She mentioned an IronMan.  Ouch, yeah I dunno about that one. Hmmm, what about a Half Ironman though.  Here’s what it consists of:

  • 1.2 mile swim
  • 56 mile bike ride
  • 13.1 mile run

Wow, OK reading that makes my legs hurt.  It’s one thing to ride a bike but also swim and run.  Eeeesh.  I’ve never been a very good swimmer and as far as running goes, I think the farthest I’ve ever ran is 4.5  miles.  In the past few weeks I’ve actually started running more often with the wife on weekdays.  A Half IronMan though is not one of those baby steps everyone is always talking about.  It’s a rather large leap.  I will definitely ponder this idea.  What do you guys think?  Nuts?

For now I will concentrate on my riding and adding miles.  Maybe throw in some extra runs, and a swim or two.  We’ll just see how it goes.  Wife, thanks for the goal idea.  You might have created a monster though.

“Mantenha o lado da borracha para baixo”

2 thoughts on “IronMan

  1. I think that is an awesome idea. Your mind is your only limitation. If you think you can — you can! And I know you can! All you have to do is train for it.

Leave a Reply

