Motivation is Key

It’s amazing the feeling I get when I see how my hard work is paying off.  Whether it’s fitting into an old pair of jeans or feeling stronger on the bike.  It is an honest motivation for me.  When I see results I just push harder.  Nothing happens overnight and we all have our slip ups of course but when you work hard and a good week goes by, how can you not get excited about the next week?  Every weekend I go on at least one ride, sometimes two.  I benefit at the moment by having a 3 day weekend every week.  So I get to ride on Friday and Saturday.  To be honest, it is difficult to ride two long rides back to back.  And at times I falter and only do one.  What I’ve been thinking about lately is switching back to a normal schedule, basically getting off at 3:30 which would give me plenty of time after work to get a ride in.  Even more so with summer coming up and the longer days.  As it stands now I get home by 6 and try to squeeze in a ride on the trainer.  The issues with that are not surprising to say the least.  It’s boring, I’m tired from a 10 hour day, not enough time to spend with the wife and the list and excuses go on and on.  I love having that extra day off every week by working 10 hours a day, but in the long run I’m not sure it’s paying off for me as much as it should be.  I think I’d rather have the extra 2 hours everyday.  What do you guys think?

I’ve been finding motivation to stay healthy all over the place.  My wife is a big motivator.  It helps to have someone tell you “good job” or that they’re proud of you, and of course it also helps to know that I’ll have a nice healthy meal waiting for me every time I finish my ride.  Another motivation, although it seems superficial is the mirror.  The mirror does not lie to you.  You know what’s staring back at you is the truth.  Sure sometimes our mind wants to believe that shirt looks good, when it surely doesn’t but I always know where I’m at in a narcissistic way by checking myself out in the mirror.

My biggest motivator though is my bike.  I know for a fact when I am doing well or when I have been lazy.  It will never lie to you.  You work hard, it will pay you back 10 fold no doubt.  I was watching the Tour de France a few years ago and a French interviewer asked Lance Armstrong “What are you on?” referring to the doping scandals and the fact that he does so well on the bike.  Lance simply replied “My bike 6 hours a day”.  It’s the same with any sport.  The more you participate and push yourself, the more rewards you will see.  You’ll see it physically in the mirror, and as well as on the bike.  Pushing myself everyday is a challenge, but if you don’t push you will never know your own limitations.

Always remember,

“Clown falls hurt”


Leave a Reply

