My First Post

So, that’s me on the right. You know, the lucky guy sitting next to the beautiful Brazilian. Don’t ask me how I got to marry her, just lucky I guess. More on her in another posting I’m sure. This was my downhill slide, Thanksgiving dinner.

New Years Resolutions, what a drag.  We all do it.  You know what I’m talking about.  Add to our Resolutions, “Lose weight”, or “Get Fit”.  Plenty of others that can relate.  I’m not sure how many times I’ve added it.  Every year hoping that this would be the year I truly dedicate myself.

To bring you up to speed, last year there was a change.  I bit the bullet and started a program called Medifast.  I was pushing 210 lbs and at 5’10 that’s not healthy.  That was my all time heaviest by the way, but I digress.  I tried this extreme diet, which to be honest wasn’t very hard.  The first few days were painful, no doubt.  My body was in shock basically from the reduced amounts of calories I was intaking.  After a few months and a few “cheat” slip ups I dropped 35 pounds.  Now I know what you’re thinking, “Wow, great job”.  Thanks for that, but truthfully I lost a lot of strength and I really couldn’t even walk up a flight of stairs without feeling faint.  So of course my next step, fitness.

I began cycling again.  One of my passions from a few years earlier that a friend of mine introduced me to.  It was tough.  Riding again was a serious eye opener.  It took me months to be able to keep up with that said friend who is 20 years my senior.  I was dedicated for some time, up until about October of 09.  I finally completed another one of my goals.  I completed my first Century.  Which to any non-cyclist is the same as say, running a marathon for runners.  It was truly epic.  I had wanted to finish one since early 2002.  It was worth the wait.

Well now things have changed a bit.  Actually, it’s more of the same old news.  I slacked off again.  It’s been about 3 months now since any real activity.  In those months were of course, Thanksgiving feasts, Christmas dinners, company parties, and of course New Years.  All the thousands of unanswered calories entering my body.  I haven’t done too bad.  I’ve only put on about 7 of those lost pounds.

So I am starting a new plan.  A goal, you could say.  I am going to attempt to write everyday on this blog (maybe weekly), to hold myself accountable.  I will share my daily life, current goals, diet problems, fitness achievements and future rides and runs I will be attempting.  All in hopes that I will become a more in shape and healthy me.  Now I know this might be boring for you.  And if so, you have my permission to vamoose and check out another page, as this blog is for me.  If you do stick around I hope that in some small way I can be of some encouragement for someone.  It’s not easy, trust me I know, and there aren’t any magic pills or quick solutions.  Just like our parents used to say “Nothing that is worth anything is easy to obtain”.  So here I go, day one, enjoy the ride.

Leave a Reply

