Trying to keep the rubber side down

Staying On Track

So many times you hear people talk about diets, health plans and different techniques or gizmos they’re trying to either lose weight or gain fitness.  Until you’re in those positions yourself of formulating a plan of an attack on your fat or just wanting a better life for yourself then you can’t really understand or fathom what it’s all about.

I don’t need to name all the “FAD” diets out on the market right now.  You know which ones are out there and the reason I call them a “FAD” is simply because you can’t sustain a lifestyle that’s going to be able to revolve around their eating plans forever.  Can you survive on boxed meals and powder packets?  Sure, but will you want to?  Of course not.  That’s why these plans or quick fat burning diets fail.  It’s not something that anyone wants to do forever so the fat and unhealthy eating comes back.

I’ve been through a few of those plans and tried out a few of the gizmos, equipment that say’s it will burn this, tighten that. It’s all hogwash.  The only benefit of trying any of that stuff is that I actually got up and did something.  Which means my mindset was almost at the place it needed to be.  I would still be stuck in that rut today if I hadn’t learned that “fad” diets and wacky fitness equipment weren’t the key to my success.

So what is it?  What have I learned?  Well it’s not what I learned per-se but more what I had to un-learn.  All the quick meals in a box, fast food, soda, diet-soda (yes even diet) were out the door.  I had to un-learn how to eat those things.  For example, pasta was huge for me.  I still eat it but now for the first time I tried making my own sauce and replaced white flower made pasta with whole wheat instead.  No more high sodium in jarred sauces.  I also chose to replace a meal with Shakeolegy.  Not only is it the healthiest meal of the day but it also tastes excellent.  It’s choices like these, (simple replace this with that, don’t eat this but have that instead) that have made me lose weight and not only keep it off but I’m now more healthy and my overall fitness level has increased.

Don’t get me wrong here.  It’s not all puppy dogs and butterflies.  It’s taken a lot of practice eating healthy.  No more diets for me, this is now my lifestyle.  For me dieting or labeling it a “diet” has always set me up for failure.  I knew that it was temporary so there I would be after a hard workout or long bike ride stuffing my mouth with nacho’s or a burrito, then feeling guilty afterwards about not dieting correctly.  I’ve taken a different approach to it now.  I recently overheard someone explaining an 80\20 approach to eating healthy.  I liked the idea so much I’ve adapted it myself.  What it means is this, you eat as healthy as possible 80% of the time (clean food, organic, veggies, range free meat, etc.) and then slip a little (20%) and enjoy some of the things that are not so “great” for you but still in moderation.  That means a bite here and a snack there but still watching portion control.  Not only does it keep you on the right track but also keeps you from cracking and going hog wild for those people still working on self control :)

Learning to undo all the habits I’ve obtained over the years with my food really came down to one simple thing.  I never, ever wanted to be on a diet again.  I love how I feel about myself now, healthy, fit and getting fitter (P90X) that I can’t seem to stop talking about it and want to share it with everyone.  It can be done by anyone and everyone, shoot if I could do it anyone can. Staying on track isn’t easy all the time and can take some work.  Use your friends & family for support when needed.  Mine are here for me anytime I need them, whether that’s an ear to listen to me bitch or a kick in the pants to get to my workout.  We can always use some support especially when it comes to fitness and health.  What have you done in your life to “Stay on Track”?  What’s your secret?  Feel free to comment with your suggestions, bitches, gripes, complaints.  It’s all fair game….

“Mantenha o lado da borracha para baixo”

4 responses

  1. Mom

    As long as I’ve been around, I have learned absolutely nothing about staying fit.
    Sounds like you have learned how to do it Tony. I’m very proud of what you have accomplished lately.
    Keep up the good work.
    I love you.

    September 8, 2010 at 3:54 PM

  2. Well you’ve got the biggest part of it together…..eating well is a lifestyle and “diets” should be tossed out the window.

    One piece of advice I can offer is consistency. It might be a bit boring, but once you find the foods and portions that work best for you….keep repeating those meals.

    Nutrition and healthy eating is such a huge topic…even bigger than most people imagine. And it carries itself on so many different levels. There is whole grains, organic, cruciferous vegetables, and the list goes on and on.

    Good to see you taping into it.

    Darryl

    September 8, 2010 at 10:00 PM

    • Cruciferous vegetables? That’s a new one for me, I have definitely found that finding a “rhythm” with eating, same things repeated helps you stay on track, though boring at times, it’s not all about the food…..

      Thanks Darryl

      September 9, 2010 at 7:21 AM

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.