Trying to keep the rubber side down

90 Days of Hell

This title sounds very intimidating.  Any day in hell let alone 90 of them would be terrible.  That’s close to the only description I could come up with for the punishment I’m about to put my body through starting on Monday the 26th.  Let me back track a little.  While on my little trip to Houston I got into a conversation with my brother-in-law Walt regarding exercising, working out, running etc.  A typical conversation we always have together.  During that conversation he let me know of a new workout that he was currently on a break from (due to the new baby) called P90X.  Now it’s not the first time I’ve heard of it.  There are a couple of people where I work who have taken the plunge and tried it out themselves.  I’m not sure if they made it through the whole program, I never really got that interested in it to find out.  I have to say though, after throwing in one of the P90X DVD’s with Tony Horton I was hooked.  This guy is crazy ripped and from a little research I found out that he was 45 when he made these videos.  Walt and I also looked up any before and after videos we could find on YouTube and I really think that put the nail in the coffin for me.

I’ve been trying to formulate a plan for some time which would include more core and upper body strength training into my routine.  Well this is it.  P90X is no joke.  It’s going to take a serious commitment to stay focused.  In a nutshell there are 13 DVD’s which I will rotate through on a weekly basis.  The workouts are 6 days a week with the seventh either being a rest or stretch day for a grand total of 13 weeks.  Plus, I’m of course not going to be giving up my riding.  That’s the part where I’m stuck at the moment.  These workouts are intense and not only do they require physical strength but also great conditioning.  I’m not sure how to incorporate a two hour bike ride before I put myself through the ringer for another hour.  Needless to say I’m going to be a sweaty fool.  Eww, early apologies to my wife.

To prepare for next week I am transforming our office into more of a gym with a desk.  I’m starting with a fresh coat of paint from which you can see below is making a drastic change. What do you think of the red?

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Next thing is to get the TV mounted up on the wall for optimal viewing.  Of course I’ll probably add a mirror in there as no gym would be complete without being able to stare at yourself while training (narcissists rejoice).  I’ll post some better pics once I have the entire room completed.  I don’t want to have any excuses come next Monday on why I couldn’t start this training and that’s why I’m working so hard this week to get the room completed.  I want to go all out on this and to do that I need a great support system in place.  My wife has been great in the past and she has already said she is committed to helping me achieve this 90 day goal.  She’s always been supportive of my wacky ideas and this one by far will be one of the more intense things I’ve tried.

The program boasts itself as being a 90 day transformation.  Of course it doesn’t stop there as being healthy and working out is a lifestyle change and should be incorporated into our daily lives at all times.  I’m using this program as a stepping stone to give me the tools I need off the bike to be able to obtain and maintain the fitness level that I want.  Riding a bike is probably the greatest thing I could do for myself but I ultimately know there are other things that need to be included as well.

My brother-in-law and I have kind of made a small competition to see how we’re doing come Christmas.  He’s going to do his thing, although somewhat limited with a new baby, and I’ll do mine and come five months from know we’re going to see how we both have faired out.  It’s always nice having some healthy competition to keep you motivated.  If you have any thoughts on how to stay motivated or advice on P90X it would be appreciated.  All I can say now is, “Bring it”.  Pain that is…..

“Mantenha o lado da borracha para baixo”

3 responses

  1. Denise

    Ha! I guess it’s on, huh? Good luck bro! Good to see that you have kept busy since you left! ;o)

    July 21, 2010 at 10:25 AM

  2. Mom

    I love the color in the room!
    Good luck on your exercise regime.
    I love you.
    MOM

    July 21, 2010 at 12:36 PM

  3. Pingback: Cycling Sanity « Life's 2 Wheel Balance

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.