Trying to keep the rubber side down

10 Year Span

This June 5th, 2010 marks my 10 year anniversary from my honorable discharge from the Air Force.  It’s hard to believe that 10 years have already passed and it just seems like yesterday when I was lacing up my boots and throwing on the uniform.  When I was younger I had never envisioned myself being in the military.  I was always strongly against it and never believed in using war as a resolution for anything.  I think deep down though I was more upset for family members who were in the service always being gone and deployed somewhere and just plain being selfish about it.  I never fully realized the depth of the sacrifice that service members and their families make everyday.  Now as an adult and of course completing my own 4 years in I can now understand the other side of the coin.  It’s not always about war.  We’re here to not only protect the U.S. but also protect our interest in peace and diplomacy in the rest of the world.

Even after 10 years I still have habits that I formed in the service with me today.  The biggest habit of course is being an early riser.  When that alarm goes off I’m up and running.  No problem for me waking up (not using snooze by the way) and getting to it at o’dark thirty.  My other habit is the whole “being on time” thing which of course my wife can’t stand.  I have to be on time to everything, period.  Even when we get invited to social events where typically you don’t want to be the first person showing up, (the fashionably late scenario) there I am first one at the scene.  Yeah I dunno, I just hate being late.  When I tell you it’s been an on going issue with us, don’t take it lightly.

So here I am after 10 years of civilian life wondering how it all went by so fast.  As I look back I have no regrets about joining or any ill feelings about getting out and can say that it has only cast a positive light on the rest of my life.  I am very proud to have served this country and I am and will always benefit from being a veteran.  I do often wonder what would have happened in my life if I were to have stayed in but then I remember how my life is now and how happy I am.  It’s weird how one decision can affect the rest of your life and at the time of making that decision you can never know what the outcome is going to be.  As I sit here now I couldn’t have asked for a better future. Here’s to another 10 years and may yours be as great as mine has.

PS. Just for your laughing pleasure I included two photos of me in uniform.  Notice the bike?  That was the beginning of riding for me.

“Mantenha o lado da borracha para baixo”

My Dorm room in Korea

At work in Korea

One response

  1. Mom

    I remember those pictures. I was so proud of you! Still am.

    June 6, 2010 at 6:23 PM

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.